Road Trip Iceland: A Custom Map

alexcornell iceland map.jpg

Iceland is the best country in the world for a road trip. The variety of the scenery is unparalleled; one road circles the entire country and darts through some of the most incredible landscapes you will ever see.

My friends and I travelled there in May 2013 and circled the Ring Road over the course of eight days. When we returned, I wanted to document our adventures with an artifact of some kind. My initial thought was to find a map of the country and annotate it to show our route. There were a number of options, but nothing felt quite right visually; either the map had too much extraneous information or it just wasn’t cool enough.

I decided to draw my own map of Iceland, on a massive canvas, and include the photos, stories, and logistics of our journey. The focus was the route, but I also included illustrations and notes to call out memorable moments of the trip. It was a time-consuming way to sum up our adventure, but there was no other way to capture the experience on a single page. The framed version measures 44"x70" and is shown above.

In addition to conjuring nostalgia when I pass it in my hallway, I hope the map will encourage friends to take a similar journey. It is the most amazing country–full of an staggering array of sights and remarkably well suited for a photo-centric road trip.

I have a long list of suggestions as well, so if anyone is considering a trip, let me know and I’ll send you the list along with the map. Photos from my trip are on my portfolio.

 
153
Kudos
 
153
Kudos

Now read this

Why It’s Impossible to Make Plans Anymore

In the landline-days of old, a plan had to be a solid commitment. Now, it more closely resembles a series of nebulous inklings. For some context, we made this video: If you do decide to embark on making plans in 2014, I have also... Continue →