Planet Iceland

I shoot a lot of footage when I travel. Recently I’ve been experimenting with ways to make this footage interesting and engaging to people who weren’t on the trip. Because I know, the last thing you care about is another stranger’s time-lapse montage of sunsets in paradise.

Planet Iceland is my most recent experiment. Shot on a trip around the island, it’s about exploring Iceland in a protective spacesuit while waiting for more people to arrive. Iceland is such a magical and inspiring place; I tried to capture the feeling of being there. We had 8 days to circumnavigate the island and I basically shot from the hip the whole time, infusing the story after the fact, once I got home.

For the camera geeks: It’s shot on Canon C100 + 1DC. Approx 85% of the footage is C100 as it was too difficult to monitor exposure on the 1DC in the field. Relied heavily on the C100’s NDs and waveform monitor. Mostly Canon glass: 16-35mm, 24-70, and 70-200. Edited in Adobe Premier and After Effects. Using Particular, Optical Flares, Data Glitch. Color using Fast Color Corrector for simple LOG correction, no fancy grade. Helicopter HUD in Photoshop.

If you’re interested, I also made one about Tokyo a little while ago.

 
111
Kudos
 
111
Kudos

Now read this

Culture Fasting

A few years ago I wrote an article on Culture Fasting. I was inspired by this wonderful piece by Alain De Botton on distraction. I find this passage of his of particular note: One of the more embarrassing and self-indulgent challenges of... Continue →